This 3.3 km level trail encircles the valley at the
north-western slope of Mt Parker. Along the way
there are picturesque vistas of hills and ravines,
as well as sweeping views of Quarry Bay and Kornhill.
The area where Quarry Bay and Taikoo Shing now
stands was once an important industrial district.
In 1881, Taikoo Sugar Company acquired land along
the coast of Quarry Bay to develop the Taikoo Sugar
Since the company built staff quarters
in the Mount Parker area, to facilitate movement,
it also developed Hong Kong's first ever cable car
system in 1892. Today, foundations of Taikoo Villa
can still be traced at various scenic spots in Quarry
Gap. Because of the great demand for water, Taikoo
built the Taikoo Reservoir at Mt Parker; and the
Seven Sisters Reservoir or Choy Sai Lake was built
at Braemar Hill.
Along with the
change in land use in Hong Kong, the area was made
into Taikoo Shing residential development.